lifeintheuktest
10 years ago

Hi

Sorry, old thread, but I need some clarification on this matter.

What does the above exactly mean?

It says, you should have held MINIMUM permanant resident status for 5 years, then in the last sentence, it says AGAIN minimum resident status for 12 months?

Does that mean 12 months OF THE FIVE YEAR PERIOD (THE LAST YEAR OF THE 5 YEARS)?

OR

12 MONTHS ON TOP OF THE 5 YEAR PERIOD?

Basically, a simple answer would help me immensely.

I'm an EEA national (Hungarian). I have been in the UK since Oct 2008, and never needed visa etc.

So i suppose I have been a permanant resident since I arrived?

I have been full time employed in the NHS since the day I arrived, Oct 2008, till this very day.

So, in Oct 2013, DO I QUALIFY FOR LIKE IN THE UK TEST AND NATURALISATION ETC, OR DO I NEED TO WAIT TILL OVT 2014?

Many thanks

Sponsor

mrlookforward
10 years ago

You need 5 years plus 12 months on top of that. So 6 years in total.

You were not permanent resident since you arrived. You become permanent resident exactly 5 years after you arrived in UK if you have been exercising treaty rights.

You have said that you have always worked since you arrived in October 2008, so you have been exercising treaty rights all the way. You gained automatic PR in October 2013. Now you need to wait another 12 months to apply for naturalisation. You will be able to apply for naturalisation in October 2014 when you have fully completed 6 years in UK. It cannot be 5 years 11 months and 20 days etc.

You will have to provide proofs that you gained PR in 2013 by providing P60's covering 2008-2013.

regards

lifeintheuktest
10 years ago

Hi

In coninue to previous question and your useful information it comes another question if I may to ask:

- Is it any kind of fast track service also for naturalisation after compeliting full 5 years and entering PR , like what they call it premium service for ILR ?

Thanks for your answers

Regards.

lifeintheuktest
10 years ago